As previously posted, after wrapping up “Wake” and “Calm,” Brigham Vaughn and I decided to write stories featuring characters from the “Tidal” series: Will Martin, Jesse Murtagh, Kyle McKee, and Malcolm Elliott. And so “The Speakeasy” books were born.

Media mogul Jesse Murtagh and bartender Kyle McKee decide to go into business together and open Under, a speakeasy on the upper West Side of Manhattan. The bar, with its secret passphrases and craft liquor cocktails, becomes a sanctuary for Jesse and Kyle’s circle of friends, who gather once a month to catch up with each other and share their experiences.

Under is both hang out and haven for the men who spend time within its walls and their friendships build family ties that are sometimes missing from their own lives.

Each book in The Speakeasy series can be read as a standalone novel.

We are delighted to announce that the first two books in “The Speakeasy” series have been accepted by Totally Entwined Group/Pride Publishing!

Book 1, “With a Twist”, follows Will Martin and David Mori.

Getting dumped is never easy. Even though Will Martin Will knows that Carter is the love of Riley’s life, Will is left nursing a broken heart when his relationship with Riley ends. In an attempt to distract himself, Will throws in himself into teaching at NYU and writing. An invite from Riley to a speakeasy called Under helps Will begin to heal, and he finds himself enjoying both the drinks and the company.

Soon after, he’s shaken by news of his father’s cancer diagnosis and Will reluctantly returns to Long Island to see the man who disowned him after he was outed.

Sparks fly when Will meets his father’s mentee, Republican Senator David Mori, who is both mixed race and openly gay. Will is looking for a no-strings-attached fling and David is leery of getting involved with his mentor’s son, so they keep their affair a secret.

As his father’s health worsens, Will elects to remain in Garden City and his relationship with David grows beyond casual sex. Now, both men must decide how to bridge the divide between them.

Book 2, “Extra Dirty”, features Jesse Murtagh and Cam Lewis.

Jesse Murtagh loves his life as a wealthy, bisexual businessman dedicated to the pursuit of pleasure. With a circle of friends he trusts implicitly, he enjoys a successful career in his family’s business and as co-owner of Under, an uptown speakeasy with his friend with benefits, Kyle McKee.

Music teacher and part-time DJ Cameron Lewis lives modestly in a DUMBO loft, and isn’t interested in serious relationships. However, he’s always up for some casual fun.

Doing a favor for his friend, Carter Hamilton, Jesse meets Cam, and is immediately charmed. When Jesse discovers Cam’s other life as a DJ, he is further intrigued.

Cam is hesitant to become involved with Jesse but despite his efforts to remain aloof, he’s drawn to Jesse.

Viewing Cam as a challenge, Jesse pulls out all the stops, but his usual methods to avoid serious relationships fail. Though Cam has no intention of becoming attached, he begins to fall for Jesse, unaware Jesse’s feelings are changing.

Both are eager to explore a threesome with Kyle, but after, Cam doubts his place in Jesse’s life. Afraid of heartbreak, Cam pulls away, leaving Jesse bewildered and hurt. They remain friends until a series of misunderstandings widens the rift to a breaking point.

When Cam steps in to help Jesse through a family crisis, they realize they care for each other more than they’ve been willing to admit. While Jesse and Cam don’t want a traditional relationship, they build a future that makes them both happy.

“Extra Dirty” was originally titled “On the Rocks” by the way, but was too similar to an existing title in the TEG catalog. After throwing around some ideas, we settled on “Extra Dirty”, the perfect title for a book about Jesse Murtagh. We’re quite excited about the change!

“With a Twist” will be available for pre-order on August 14, 2018, and general release on September 25, 2018.

“Extra Dirty” will be available for pre-order on February 12, 2019, and general release on March 26, 2019.

At this time, two additional books are planned in the series. “Behind the Stick” will feature Kyle McKee and Luka Clark, and “Straight Up” will follow Malcolm Elliott and Stuart Morgan. We look forward to sharing more about these books with you soon.

Posted by:kevancoles

K. Evan Coles is a mother and tech pirate by day and a writer by night. She is a dreamer who, with a little hard work and a lot of good coffee, coaxes words out of her head and onto paper. K. lives in the northeast United States, where she complains bitterly about the winters, but truly loves the region and its diverse, tenacious and deceptively compassionate people. You’ll usually find K. nerding out over books, movies and television with friends and family. She’s especially proud to be raising her son as part of a new generation of unabashed geeks. K.’s books explore LGBTQ+ romance in contemporary settings.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.